WESTERN ECONOMIC SUICIDE: G7 bans imports of Russia oil, including to U.S., as punishment for Putin’s invasion of Ukraine –

A new package of sanctions aimed at punishing Russia for its invasion of Ukraine stands to decimate Western economies.

The G7 nations, including the United States, announced on Sunday that from now on, no more Russian oil will be allowed into the U.S., Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom, or the European Union, which has 27 member states.

“First, we commit to phase out our dependency on Russian energy, including by phasing out or banning the import of Russian oil,” the G7 statement explains.

“We will ensure that we do so in a timely and orderly fashion, and in ways that provide time for the world to secure alternative supplies.”